Following today's Nintendo Direct event, it's been confirmed that Metal Gear Solid Master Collection Vol.1 will launch for Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, Nintendo Switch, PC and PlayStation 5 on October 24th, 2023.

As previously confirmed, this collection will feature the original Metal Gear Solid (which has never been available on Xbox before) along with the second and third games, as well as 1987's Metal Gear and 1990's Metal Gear 2.

Here's what's included in the Master Collection Vol.1:

Title Lineup

  • Metal Gear
  • Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake
  • Metal Gear Solid (Including VR Missions/Special Missions)
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (HD Collection version)
  • Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (HD Collection version)
  • Metal Gear (NES/FC version)
  • Snake's Revenge


  • Metal Gear Solid: Digital Graphic Novel
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: Digital Graphic Novel

Digital book

  • Metal Gear Solid: Screenplay Book
  • Metal Gear Solid: Master Book
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: Screenplay Book
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: Master Book
  • Metal Gear Solid 3: Screenplay Book
  • Metal Gear Solid 3: Master Book
  • Metal Gear & Metal Gear 2: Screenplay Book
  • Metal Gear & Metal Gear 2: Master Book


  • Metal Gear Solid: Digital Soundtrack

If you'd rather just buy one of Metal Gear Solid, Metal Gear Solid 2 or Metal Gear Solid 3 separately, you'll be able to do so! Each game will be made available as a cheaper standalone title on the Xbox Store later this year.

Of course, this is the precursor to the arrival of the Metal Gear Solid 3 Remake at some point in the future, which has already been confirmed to be coming to Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S.

We'll throw some more details about the Master Collection below:

"The origin of stealth action returns. METAL GEAR SOLID: MASTER COLLECTION Vol. 1 unifies the beginning of the METAL GEAR gameplay experience in one single package. Infiltrate enemy fortresses all over the globe, complete your missions with stealth and experience the thrilling cinematic story of the METAL GEAR series. This collection includes the classic versions of the games, complete with minimal edits to copyrighted contents."

Excited for Metal Gear Solid Master Collection Vol.1 on Xbox? Tell us down in the comments.