There's just so much happening in the gaming world right now, isn't there? There used to be a time when new releases were fairly quiet in the summer, but now we've got massive indie hits on the way, multiple game betas and events such as Gamescom on the horizon. In all that noise it can be easy to miss out on one or two details, with a notable one this week being the launch of Diablo 2: Resurrected's open beta.

You can download the free beta now and play it all through the weekend until 6pm BST / 1pm EDT / 10 am PDT on August 22. This gives you a solid 48 hours to dive in and see what it's all about, including the ability to play as five different character classes: Barbarian, Sorceress, Amazon, Druid, and Paladin.

You can match up with to eight other players online in co-op, or test your mantle in the PvP modes.

"Be among the first to return to Hell and experience the timeless gameplay of Diablo II, now remastered with modern visuals and audio that take advantage of today's gaming hardware."

"Face the minions of Hell as one of five playable classes in the Beta. Each is highly customizable with countless build and gear options for players to explore. The Open Beta test weekend will also have multiplayer enabled, so players can play cooperatively with up to eight players in one game or duel each other in PvP."

If you enjoy the beta and get a taste for more of it, you won't have to wait too long for the full release. Diablo 2: Resurrected launches on September 23, and pre-orders are open now via the Microsoft Store.

Will you be checking out Diablo 2: Resurrected's open beta now? Let us know in the comments below.

[source microsoft.com]