The Xbox Game Pass releases are coming thick and fast at the moment, and another highly anticipated arrival this August comes in the form of roguelike dungeon crawler Hades, set to join the service on August 13.

In the meantime, the game just won yet another award to add to its list of accolades, scooping Game of the Year at the 2021 Game Developers Choice Awards, beating some huge competitors in the process.

Game of the Year

Hades (Supergiant Games)

Animal Crossing: New Horizons (Nintendo EPD/ Nintendo)
The Last of Us Part II (Naughty Dog / Sony Interactive Entertainment)
Half-Life: Alyx (Valve)
Ghost of Tsushima (Sucker Punch Productions / Sony Interactive Entertainment)

Honorable Mentions: Spelunky 2 (Blitworks, Mossmouth / Mossmouth), Doom Eternal (id Software / Bethesda Softworks), Marvel's Spider-Man: Miles Morales (Insomniac Games / Sony Interactive Entertainment), Microsoft Flight Simulator (Asobo Studio / Xbox Game Studios), Final Fantasy VII: Remake (Square Enix), Genshin impact (miHoYo)

In addition to winning Game of the Year, Hades also took home the awards for Best Audio and Best Design. Rightfully, Xbox first-party title Microsoft Flight Simulator scooped the Best Technology award.

We haven't had a chance to experience the delights of Hades on an Xbox console as of yet, but we're now just a few short weeks away from that privilege. Based on everything we've seen and heard, it's going to be incredible!

Are you excited for the arrival of Hades on Xbox Game Pass? Let us know down in the comments below.

[source, via]