It's almost time for the return of Gamescom! This year, the event will take place in the form of a digital show, and will be kicked off with a two-hour Opening Night Live stream this Thursday hosted by Geoff Keighley.

We already know that Xbox will be a part of Gamescom this year along with a huge range of major publishers including Activision Blizzard, Ubisoft, Electronic Arts and Bethesda, and now Keighley has revealed a bit more about what we can expect to see during Opening Night Live later this week:

As you can see, the event will highlight at least 38 games from 18 publishers across the two-hour runtime, but Keighley has since clarified that the stream will focus primarily on announced titles with just "some" new game announcements, with the reveal of the DOOM Eternal Campaign Expansion already confirmed.

We'll be covering the show as usual later this week, so you'll be able to hang out in the chatroom and follow our live blog while watching the stream! The show begins at 11AM PDT / 2PM EDT / 7PM BST / 8PM CEST on Thursday, August 27th, and you can check out the full multi-day Gamescom schedule over at the official website.

What are you hoping to see during Gamescom Opening Night Live? Let us know in the comments.

[source twitter.com]