Diablo 2: Resurrected is getting an open beta next weekend, allowing fans to check out the game ahead of its launch for Xbox One, Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S on September 23.

The open beta weekend will begin on August 20 at 6pm BST / 1pm EDT / 10 am PDT and will run until August 22. During this period, players will be able to check out five different classes: Barbarian, Sorceress, Amazon, Druid, and Paladin. These characters can be taken through the game's first two campaign acts, giving you a taste of how the game feels.

You can also take the game online with up to eight players via the game's co-op. Alternatively, the PvP mode is also available to test out if you so wish.

For anyone who has pre-ordered the game via the Microsoft Store, an early access beta weekend is also taking place this week. Between August 13-15 (with the same start times as before), those who are already set to pick up the game can check out the beta an entire week in advance.

How well the beta will perform remains up in the air, following an ongoing lawsuit at Activision Blizzard. The company is currently being sued over a culture of harassment and discrimination, and it's fair to say there's been some pushback to the announcement of the beta on social media over the past 24 hours as a result.

Blizzard president J. Allen Brack recently stepped down from his position, with former Xbox executive Mike Ybarra and previous Vicarious Visions studio head Jen Oneal taking over the mantle in a joint capacity.

Will you be checking out the Diablo 2: Resurrected beta or not? Let us know in the comments below.

[source news.blizzard.com]